VERMEER WITH A TWIST

As a great admirer of the works of Johannes Vermeer, I am driven to create one or more paintings that pay tribute to the great master of light, shadow and stillness in a contemporary way.

Johannes Vermeer (1632-1675) spent his entire life in Delft, in the aftermath of the Golden Age. A total of 37 paintings have been assigned to Vermeer, two of which are highly controversial. The small size of his oeuvre – he made on average barely more than two canvases per year – is explained by the fact that he painted very little for the art market, but especially for patrons. It is almost certain that he, like his father, was active as an art dealer. He probably made more money selling other paintings than his own work. In any case, Vermeer was certainly not underestimated as a painter in his days and in his best time he was at the top of the Delft art market in terms of prices. He was twice elected chief of the St. Luke's Guild, the brotherhood of Delft painters.

In 1653 he married Catherine Bolnes. He had 15 children with her (four of whom died young) and was able to support his family without any problems. The fact he moved with his family to the house of his wealthy mother-in-law from 1660 onwards will have contributed to this. Vermeer's last years were overshadowed by a dramatic deterioration in his financial situation. The war with France had disastrous consequences. In the disaster year 1672 he no longer sold paintings and the art market collapsed. Vermeer fell into gloom and died on December 15, 1675. After his death, hardly anyone knew him. It was not until 1860 that he was rediscovered and his star rose to spectacular heights in a few decades. The French art critic and writer Etienne-Joseph Théophile Thoré (1807 - 1869) called him "the sphinx of Delft", the great unknown master who had appeared out of nowhere and, apart from some paintings, left no trace. The fascination for Vermeer is due to the idea that we know almost nothing about his life, and that we cannot fathom his paintings. The interpretations of his works vary enormously. It is now generally assumed that, in addition to perfect representations of scenes from the daily life of the well-off bourgeois, there are also symbolic and hidden meanings in Vermeer's paintings.

One of the ways that Vermeer used on his canvases as an instrument of interpretation and symbolism are the paintings IN his paintings that mostly appear on the opposite central wall in many of his interiors. His mother-in-law Maria Thins owned many paintings of that time and Vermeer made use of them.

In this way I had the idea to repaint some famous vermeer interiors, to make some modifications, and also to "replace" the painting in the painting with another well-known work.

CECI N'EST PAS UN VERMEER

The painting "Ceci n'est pas un Vermeer" is based on "the Wine Glass", also named "a Lady drinking and a Gentleman" painted by Vermeer somewhere between 1658 and 1660.

Lees meer

LETTER TO MARAT

The painting "Letter to Marat" is based on "Lady writing a Letter with her Maid", one of the most famous works by Johannes Vermeer, dated around 1670.

Lees meer

Do you want more information?Are you curious about the price of a painting or interested in buying?

CLICK HERE AND ENTER YOUR DATA

VERMEER WITH A TWIST

En tant que grand admirateur des œuvres de Johannes Vermeer, je suis poussé à créer une ou plusieurs peintures qui rendent hommage au grand maître de la lumière d’une manière contemporaine.

Johannes Vermeer (1632-1675) a passé toute sa vie à Delft, vers la fin de l’âge d’or. Au total, 37 tableaux ont été attribués à Vermeer, dont deux sont très controversés. La petite taille de son œuvre – il a réalisé en moyenne à peine plus de deux toiles par an – s’explique par le fait qu’il peignait très peu pour le marché de l’art, mais surtout pour les mécènes. Il est presque certain qu’il était actif, comme son père, comme marchand d’art. Il a probablement gagné plus d’argent en vendant d’autres peintures que son propre travail. Quoi qu’il en soit, Vermeer n’a certainement pas été sous-estimé en tant que peintre et dans son meilleur temps, il était au sommet du marché de l’art Delft en termes de prix. Il fut élu deux fois chef de la Guilde Saint-Luc, la confrérie des peintres de Delft.

En 1653, il épouse Catherine Bolnes. Il a eu 15 enfants avec elle (dont quatre sont morts jeunes) et a pu soutenir sa famille sans aucun problème. Qu’il ait déménagé avec sa famille chez sa riche belle-mère à partir de 1660 y aura contribué. Les dernières années de Vermeer ont été éclipsées par une détérioration spectaculaire de sa situation financière. La guerre avec la France a eu des conséquences désastreuses. Dans l’année de catastrophe 1672, il n’a plus vendu des peintures et le marché de l’art s’est effondré. Vermeer tomba dans l’obscurité et mourut le 15 décembre 1675. Après sa mort, presque personne ne le connaissait. Ce n’est qu’en 1860 qu’il est redécouvert et que son étoile atteint des sommets spectaculaires en quelques décennies. Le critique d’art Français et écrivain Etienne-Joseph Théophile Thoré (1807 - 1869) l’a appelé « le sphinx de Delft », le grand maître inconnu qui était apparu de nulle part et, à part quelques peintures, n’a laissé aucune trace. La fascination pour Vermeer est due à l’idée que nous ne savons presque rien de sa vie, et que nous ne pouvons pas comprendre ses peintures. Les interprétations de ses œuvres varient énormément. On suppose aujourd’hui généralement qu’en plus des représentations parfaites de scènes de la vie quotidienne des bourgeois prospères, il y a aussi des significations symboliques et cachées dans les peintures de Vermeer.

Un des moyens que Vermeer a utilisé sur ses toiles comme instrument d’interprétation et de symbolisme sont les peintures DANS ses peintures qui figurent toujours sur le mur central opposé dans beaucoup de ses intérieurs. Sa belle-mère Maria Thins possédait de nombreux tableaux de l’époque et Vermeer s’en est fait l’usage.

De cette façon, j’ai eu l’idée de repeindre quelques « intérieurs vermeer » célèbres, d’y apporter quelques modifications, et aussi de « remplacer » la peinture dans la peinture par une autre œuvre bien connue.

CECI N'EST PAS UN VERMEER

Le tableau « Ceci n’est pas un Vermeer » est basé sur « le verre de vin », parfois aussi appelé « gentilhomme et dame buvant du vin » que Vermeer peint entre 1658 et 1660.

Lees meer

LETTRE A MARAT

Le tableau « Lettre à Marat » est basé sur « Femme écrivant une lettre et sa servante », l’une des œuvres les plus célèbres de Johannes Vermeer, datée vers 1670.

Lees meer

Intéressé par une œuvre originale comme une variation sur un tableau de Johannes Vermeer?

CLIQUEZ ICI ET ENTREZ VOS DONNEES